Learning and Cultural Enhancement Section
A
A
A

認識香港

1. 語言

香港的法定語文是中文和英文。大部份華人使用粵語溝通。一般公開資訊均有中、英文版本,公共機構和銀行職員都能操英語和普通話,因此,以英語或普通話溝通不會構成很大問題。

 

2. 社交習俗和禮節

香港汇聚了古今與及東西方文化,了解其獨特的社交習俗和禮儀有助你融入本地生活。請按此查看我們為你準備的小提示,你會發現它們實用之餘亦十分有趣。正所謂熟能生巧,不懂使用筷子的同學記得要多加練習

 

3. 宗教

香港市民享有宗教自由,不同宗教團體在香港設有會堂以方便信眾聚會,包括佛教、道教、基督教、天主教、伊斯蘭教、印度教、錫克教及猶太教等。

 

4. 天氣

同學可透過「我的天文台」知道最新天氣情況及天氣預報。

 

5. 日常生活

電訊
在香港使用手機十分方便。香港電訊公司提供多元化且價格具競爭力的電訊服務,你可查閱有關的消費者錦囊以作出精明的選擇。

電力
香港標準電壓是220伏特,交流電50赫茲,而使用的插頭則普遍為三腳。你從外地帶來的電器可能需要使用變壓器才能繼續使用。

郵政
香港各區均設郵政局,大部分於星期日及公眾假期休息。鄰近大學的郵政局包括沙田中央郵局、禾輋、火炭和馬鞍山分局,可以收發快遞及掛號信。本地及空郵郵件按類別 (即「小型信件」、「大型信件」和「郵包」)及重量收費。

同學可透過「香港郵政流動應用程式」檢查送件狀態、計算郵資及接收其他郵遞資訊。

 

6. 銀行和保險

銀行
本地大部份銀行的營業時間為星期一至五上午9時至下午5時;星期六上午9時至下午1時;星期日及公眾假期休息。另外,自動提款機 (ATM) 隨處可見,為VISA及萬事達卡持有人提供24小時現金(HK$)提取服務。

貨幣兌換
在兌換貨幣前,請先查看找換店展示的淨汇率。法例規定,找換店必須發出收條。

保險
大學已為每位參與學校活動的學生購買團體之人身意外保險及團體之旅遊綜合保險。你可以考慮自費安排額外的意外及疾病醫療保險,並附加緊急撤離/ 救援者費用及遣送等條款,以保障在港期間的需要。

 

7. 交通

香港擁有高效率及服務安全的公共運輸系統。計程車、渡輪、港鐵、巴士、電車等讓你可以在城市裡穿梭自如。大部分的公共交通工具均接受八達通卡付款。

  1. 港鐵—這是從大學港鐵站前往香港其他地區最便捷的交通工具。合資格的學生可憑有效的「學生身份」個人八達通享有港鐵學生乘車優惠
  2. 巴士—香港島、九龍及新界的巴士路線由九巴城巴及新巴營運。而大嶼山的巴士服務,則由新大嶼山巴士提供。
  3. 小巴—紅色小巴的行走路線並不固定,除禁區外,乘客可在沿途任何地方上下車。綠色小巴按固定路線行駛,並收取固定車資。
  4. 渡輪—天星小輪是穿梭香港島與九龍之間最經濟的交通工具;新渡輪港九小輪則提供從港島中環碼頭到坪洲、長洲、南丫島及大嶼山等主要離島的渡輪服務。
  5. 計程車(俗稱的士)—是穿梭香港最方便快捷的交通工具之一。的士分紅色、綠色和藍色三種,行走不同區域。紅色的士行走香港大部分地區,大嶼山除外;綠色的士行走新界區;而藍色的士只於大嶼山行駛。所有的士均可接載乘客往返香港國際機場。
  6. 電車—香港電車有限公司提供港島區電車服務,另有山頂纜車接載乘客往返中環花園道及山頂。

香港乘車易」提供一站式的點到點公共交通路線查詢服務,方便市民預先計劃行程。服務涵蓋的交通工具包括港鐵、巴士、綠色小巴、渡輪和電車。

 

8. 文化、康樂及體育活動

文化及藝術活動
在香港,你可以找到各式各樣的文藝表演節目,當中包括中國戲曲、音樂會、舞蹈表演、戲劇等。大多數的節目均設有學生優惠,有些甚至是免費的。「城市電腦售票網」流動應用程式為大眾提供網上訂票服務。

大型體育活動
香港每年都會舉辦10多項大型體育活動,吸引來自不同國家的運動員參加。你除了可以成為觀眾外,亦有機會成為參賽運動員。

博物館
香港各個博物館展示了香港各方面的發展︰從歷史到科學、從科技到文化遺產、從藝術到設計,讓到訪者更深入的認識香港。所有博物館逢星期三免費入場,全日制學生亦可以優惠票於其他時段參觀博物館。

  1. 展覽活動一覽
  2. 公共博物館其他博物館

郊野公園和海灘
香港雖小,但仍擁有風景幽美的郊野公園和海灘。在適宜郊遊的秋冬季,不妨安排遠足活動,好好享受週末的寧靜;而在炎熱的夏季,則可到海灘暢泳和曬太陽。

Learning and Cultural Enhancement Section
A
A
A

Knowing Hong Kong

1. Languages

The official languages of Hong Kong are Chinese and English, and the Cantonese dialect is most widely spoken. Most of the information available to the public is bilingual. Staff members of public organisations and banks speak English and Putonghua. There is not much problem to get by in English or Putonghua.

 

2. Social Customs and Etiquette

The cultures and traditions of East and West, of ancient and modern, are united in Hong Kong. Knowing the unique social customs and etiquette will help you a lot in integrating the local life. Here are some useful tips and etiquette that you would find interesting and useful. And for those who don’t know how to use chopsticks, always remember practice makes perfect!

 

3. Religion

People in Hong Kong enjoy religious freedom. There is a large variety of religious groups in Hong Kong, including Buddhism, Taoism, Christianity (Protestants and Catholic), Islam, Hinduism, Sikhism and Judaism.

 

4. Weather

MyObservatory automatically displays the latest weather information and weather forecast.

 

5. Daily Necessities

Telecommunication
Using mobile phone in Hong Kong is very convenient. A large variety of telecommunication services at competitive prices are offered in Hong Kong. Check the General Guide to the Use of Telecom Services to make smart choices and get the best value for money.

Electricity
The standard electrical voltage in Hong Kong is 220 volts AC, 50HZ and the majority of electrical outlets in Hong Kong take a three-pronged plug. Some electrical appliances may need voltage adapters/ transformers in order to conform to this voltage.

Postal Service
There are local post offices throughout Hong Kong; most are closed on Sundays and public holidays. Nearby ones include the Shatin Central Post Office, Wo Che, Fo Tan and Ma On Shan branches, where Speedpost and registration service are available.

Hongkong Post Mobile Apps provides the function of delivery status check, postage calculation and other postal information.

 

6. Banking and Insurance

Banking
Most banks are open from 9:00am to 5:00pm Mondays to Fridays, and 9:00am to 1:00pm on Saturdays; they close on Sundays and public holidays. Automated Teller Machines (ATMs) can be found almost everywhere, providing 24-hour cash withdrawal (HK$) facilities for VISA and MasterCard holders.

Currency
The display of net rates of exchange by moneychangers is a legal obligation. You are advised to check them before handing over the money for exchange. Receipt notes must be issued by law.

Insurance
As a CUHK student, you are already protected by the University insurance in our Group Personal Accident Policy and the Group Travel Accident Policy when you engage in university activities. However, you may consider arranging, at your own cost, additional accident and sickness insurance coverage with provisions for emergency evacuation/ rescuer’s expenses and repatriation for the duration of your studies in Hong Kong.

 

7. Transportation

There are plenty of ways to get around Hong Kong, whether it’s by taxi, ferry, rail, bus or tram. Most public transports accept payment by Octopus Card.

 

  1. MTR – The most convenient mean to go anywhere from the station of University. Eligible students may enjoy concessionary MTR fares with a valid Personalised Octopus Card with ‘Student Status’.
  2. Buses – Bus routes covering Hong Kong Island, Kowloon and the New Territories are operated by Kowloon Motor Bus, New World First Bus and Citybus. New Lantao Bus provides bus services on Lantau Island.
  3. Minibuses – Red minibuses operate along routes without fixed stops and passengers can get on and off anywhere along the routes. Green minibuses operate along specific routes at fixed prices.
  4. Ferry – Star Ferry provides the most economical way to cross the harbour between Hong Kong Island and Kowloon. New World First Ferry and Hong Kong & Kowloon Ferry operating from the Central ferry piers on Hong Kong Island provide services to the main Outlying Islands of Peng Chau, Cheung Chau, Lamma Island and Lantau Island.
  5. Taxi – One of the most convenient and efficient transports to get around Hong Kong. Taxis in Hong Kong are categorised by three colours, each indicating a geographical area. Red taxis operate throughout Hong Kong, except Lantau Island that was specifically operated by Blue taxis. Green taxis only provide services in New Territories. However, all can travel to and from Hong Kong International Airport.
  6. Tram – While the Hong Kong Tramway provides services on Hong Kong Island, the Peak Tram runs from Garden Road in Central to the Peak.

 

The HK eTransport provides one-stop service of point to point public transport route enquiry for pre-trip planning. The public transport services include MTR, bus, green minibus, ferry, and tram.

 

8. Culture, Leisure and Sports

Culture & Arts
A wide range of performance programmes, from Chinese Opera to concert, from dance to theatre, can be found in Hong Kong. Some are free of charge while most offer concessionary tickets to full-time students. My URBTIX is the mobile application that provides online ticket booking services.

Major Sports Events
Over 10 major sports events are organised each year that attract a lot of international athletes to participate in. Besides being a spectator for the excitement, you may even have a chance to be one of the competitors!

Heritage & Museums
Museums present different aspects of Hong Kong, from history to science and technology, from cultural heritage to art and design. All museums offer concessionary tickets to full-time students and free admission on Wednesdays.

  1. Exhibition Highlights
  2. Public Museums & Other Museums

Country Parks & Beach
Hong Kong is small, but you will be surprised by its natural beauty. Plan a hiking route and enjoy the tranquility weekend during autumn and winter, best seasons for hiking. Or, you can enjoy a sunbath on beaches in summer.